# 2025 Rules Committee Nominees

The Rules Committee serves as the Committee on Committees and addresses any questions concerning Senate procedures. The committee consists of the five Senate Officers and six members elected by the Senate. Elected members serve two-year staggered terms, and this year there will be three members rolling off the committee. The election of Rules Committee members will take place during the March Senate meeting, where Senators will be asked to vote for up to three of the candidates below.

## Candidate Biographies

### Elizabeth Lipke

**Dr. Elizabeth Lipke** is the George E. & Dorothy Stafford Uthlaut Endowed Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Auburn University. She has been a faculty member at Auburn since 2008 and has served on numerous committees at all levels over the years. Dr. Lipke is also very active in the Society for Biomaterials and in the American Institute for Chemical Engineers, currently serving on the Technical Operating Council. In addition to teaching a wide range of undergraduate and graduate-level courses, Dr. Lipke leads an active NIH- and NSF-funded research group with interdisciplinary collaborations across campus. Dr. Lipke's research focuses on production of engineered tissues to treat cardiac and cardiovascular disease and to advance understanding of cancer and cancer treatment. Dr. Lipke has been recognized nationally for her research accomplishments. She was selected to serve as an Associate Editor for Science Advances and was inducted into the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows in 2024. In addition, Dr. Lipke has received awards for her teaching and mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students. Dr. Lipke has served as a Senator since 2023.

### Rebecca Riggs

**Dr. Rebecca Riggs** is a Lecturer in the Department of Biological Sciences. She received her B.S. in Biomedical Sciences from Auburn University and Ph.D. in Sciences from the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine. She joined the faculty at Auburn in 2019 and specializes in teaching large lecture biology and microbiology courses.

During the last five years at Auburn, Rebecca has served at various levels. Within the College of Sciences and Mathematics she serves on an awards Committee and volunteers within the Outreach office to support various on campus events throughout the year including Science Olympiad and the Alabama Science and Engineering Fair. At the University level she has served on the Honors College Advisory Council (23-present), the Senate Non-Tenure Track committee (2024-present), the Student Academic Grievance committee (2024-present) and the Access Task Force (2024-present) advocating awareness for student and faculty needs. Additionally, she serves as the faculty sponsor for Students Providing Aid (SPAid) and as the assistant advisor to HOSA. Rebecca has been invited to serve on the First Year Experience's Ace That Class Faculty Panel as well as support events held for students within the college including final exam prep and resume building workshops.

### Steph Shepherd

**Dr. Stephanie L. Shepherd** is an associate professor and Associate Chair of the Department of Geosciences in the College of Science and Mathematics (COSAM). She is also the co-director of AUTeach, a collaborative program to prepare COSAM students to teach secondary science in public schools. Since joining the faculty at Auburn University in 2014, she has been actively involved in the efforts of the Biggio Center, emerging as a leader in promoting excellence in teaching across the institution. Dr. Shepherd has been a member of the Access, Engagement, and Opportunity Committee since it was started in 2021, and currently serves as the senator for the Department of Geosciences.

### Hans-Werner van Wyk

**Dr. Hans-Werner van Wyk** is Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics and has served as its senator since 2021. He received his PhD in Mathematics from Virginia Tech in 2012 and worked as a Postdoctoral Researcher in the Department of Scientific Computing at Florida State before joining Auburn University in 2015. His research interests include optimization, numerical approximation of partial differential equations, and the identification and numerical treatment of parametric uncertainty in physical systems modeled by partial differential equations. Dr. van Wyk serves as the faculty advisor to the SIAM Student Chapter at Auburn University and is part of the DREAM-Math program, which aims to recruit, train, and mentor STEM majors to become secondary school mathematics teachers. He is currently participating as a fellow in the Office of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Sciences and Mathematics (COSAM).